Filmmaker Screenings & Special Events

Meet the people behind new films showing at Cinema Nova. Get an early look at some of the most anticipated titles of the year at our advance screenings. Join us for special events that celebrate films in a whole new way. If you love movies, we'll be seeing you soon at Nova.

Charli XCX: Alone Together

Opening Date: Thursday, 2 Jun 2022

It’s early 2020 and the world is thrust into lockdown, grinding everything to a halt - including pop superstar Charli ... more

Jun 2nd, 2022

I Am Eleven

Opening Date: Saturday, 4 Jun 2022

MEET THE FILMMAKER: Saturday 4 June, 2.00pm. 10 years since the release of I AM ELEVEN, join filmmaker Geneviève Bailey ... more

Jun 4th, 2022

Ferris Bueller's Day Off

Opening Date: Sunday, 5 Jun 2022

SAVE THE DATE! Ferris's Day Off Screening: Sunday June 5, 6pm. "The question isn't 'What are we going to do? ... more

Jun 5th, 2022

A Hero

Opening Date: Thursday, 9 Jun 2022

PRIVILEGE MEMBER SCREENING: Thursday June 2, 6.30pm. Be among the first to witness acclaimed director Asghar Farhadi’s latest feature A ... more

Jun 2nd, 2022

Guide, The

Opening Date: Friday, 10 Jun 2022

A SCREENS WITHOUT BORDER EVENT* The story of THE GUIDE takes place in the early 1930s during the Holodomor, or Terror-Famine, ... more

Jun 10th, 2022

Kitchen Brigade, The

Opening Date: Thursday, 16 Jun 2022

ADVANCE SCREENING: Sunday June 5, 10.30am. Catch this feel-good French social comedy at our morning tea advance screening! Includes complimentary ... more

Jun 5th, 2022

Happy Sad Man

Opening Date: Sunday, 19 Jun 2022

EVENT: Sunday 19th June, 5pm. Join filmmaker Genevieve Bailey when she returns to screen and discuss her uplifting documentary HAPPY ... more

Jun 19th, 2022

Akoni

Opening Date: Sunday, 19 Jun 2022

Refugee Week Premiere Gala Screening: Join writer/director/producer/star Genna Chanelle Hayes, star Kit Esuruoso, and Human Rights lawyer Alisson Battisson for ... more

Jun 19th, 2022

Midsommar: Director's Cut

Opening Date: Wednesday, 22 Jun 2022

SAVE THE DATE! Midsummer (or... midwinter?) Screening: Wednesday June 22, 8.15pm. This Midsommar (or for us, the absolute depths of ... more

Jun 22nd, 2022

Gone Girl

Opening Date: Tuesday, 5 Jul 2022

SAVE THE DATE! Gone Girl Screening: Tuesday July 5, 8.15pm. North Carthage, Missouri. July 5th, 2012. The day of. To ... more

Jul 5th, 2022

Amelie

Opening Date: Thursday, 14 Jul 2022

SAVE THE DATE! Bastille Day Screening: Thursday 14 July, 6.45pm. Vive la France! This Bastille Day, we’re playing the classic ... more

Jul 14th, 2022

Official Competition

Opening Date: Thursday, 21 Jul 2022

PRIVILEGE MEMBER SCREENING: Friday July 15, 6.45pm. Be among the first to witness acclaimed actors Antonio Banderas (Pain and Glory) ... more

Jul 15th, 2022

Andre Rieu Happy Days Are Here Again

Opening Date: Saturday, 27 Aug 2022

The wait is over! After 2 long years, maestro André Rieu is performing from his hometown of Maastricht once again! ... more

Aug 27th, 2022
New & Noteworthy
Closed Caption eNews Monthly Matinee Privilege Covid First Nations Acknowledgement