Filmmaker Screenings & Special Events

Meet the people behind new films showing at Cinema Nova. Get an early look at some of the most anticipated titles of the year at our advance screenings. Join us for special events that celebrate films in a whole new way. If you love movies, we'll be seeing you soon at Nova.

Apocalypse Now: Final Cut

Opening Date: Thursday, 25 Jul 2019

Francis Ford Coppola's iconic Vietnam war epic returns to the cinema screen, revisited by the director to create the 'Final ... more

Jul 25th, 2019

Defend, Conserve, Protect

Opening Date: Thursday, 25 Jul 2019

MEET THE FILMMAKER: Thursday July 25 at 7.00pm. Join director Stephen Amis and co-editor Alana Tompson (Sea Shepherd's Operation Relentless ... more

Jul 25th, 2019

Camino Skies

Opening Date: Thursday, 1 Aug 2019

Meet The Filmmaker Screening and Q&A: encore screening Sunday August 4 - 6.15pm (4pm session Sold Out). In a debut feature ... more

Aug 4th, 2019

Late Night

Opening Date: Thursday, 8 Aug 2019

ADVANCE SCREENING - Wednesday July 24 - 7.00pm Tickets on sale below From the pen of Mindy Kaling comes LATE NIGHT, starring ... more

Jul 24th, 2019

Palm Beach

Opening Date: Thursday, 8 Aug 2019

MEET THE FILMMAKER EVENT: Sunday July 28 – 5.40pm. Join screen legends Bryan Brown & Sam Neill, actress Claire van ... more

Jul 28th, 2019

Midsommar

Opening Date: Thursday, 8 Aug 2019

ADVANCE SCREENING - Thursday August 1 - 6.50pm More tickets available! From A24, the company behind Hereditary, Mid90s, Lady Bird and The ... more

Aug 1st, 2019

St Kilda Film Fest- Best of the Fest

Opening Date: Tuesday, 13 Aug 2019

EVENT SCREENING: Tuesday 13th August, 6.30pm The St Kilda Film Festival heads northside for one night only! Come and enjoy the ... more

Aug 13th, 2019

Watch the Sunset

Opening Date: Wednesday, 14 Aug 2019

MEET THE FILMMAKER: Wednesday 14th August at 6.45pm Join Tristan Barr (actor, co-director, producer), Michael Gosden (actor, co-director, producer) and Damien ... more

Aug 14th, 2019

Real to Reel: The Craft Film Festival Screening 1

Opening Date: Thursday, 22 Aug 2019

Real to Reel: The Craft Film Festival Be inspired by the passion of skilled makers a feast of short films ... more

Aug 22nd, 2019

Real to Reel: The Craft Film Festival Screening 2

Opening Date: Friday, 23 Aug 2019

Real to Reel: The Craft Film Festival Be inspired by the passion of skilled makers in a feast of short ... more

Aug 23rd, 2019

Margaret Atwood Live

Opening Date: Thursday, 19 Sep 2019

THE TESTAMENTS, Margaret Atwood’s highly anticipated sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, will be revealed in a global cinematic event. The momentous ... more

Sep 19th, 2019
D PDF sessions Closed Caption Temporary Wheelchair Access Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Korean Kitchen MET OPERA hAPPY hOUR E Youtube