NT Live: King Lear

★★★★★ ‘Ian McKellen reigns supreme in this triumphant production.’ (Daily Telegraph)

Broadcast live from London’s West End, see Ian McKellen’s ‘extraordinarily moving portrayal’ (Independent) of King Lear in cinemas.

Chichester Festival Theatre’s production received five-star reviews for its sell-out run, and transfers to the West End for a limited season. Jonathan Munby directs this ‘nuanced and powerful’ (The Times) contemporary retelling of Shakespeare’s tender, violent, moving and shocking play.

Considered by many to be the greatest tragedy ever written, King Lear sees two ageing fathers – one a King, one his courtier – reject the children who truly love them. Their blindness unleashes a tornado of pitiless ambition and treachery, as family and state are plunged into a violent power struggle with bitter ends.

Please note: This production features the use of strobe lighting.
Saturday, 3rd November
Sunday, 4th November
Wednesday, 7th November
Thursday, 8th November
Friday, 9th November
Saturday, 10th November
Sunday, 11th November
Tuesday, 13th November
Wednesday, 14th November

Legend Deluxe: In-Cinema dining session.
Event: Special event screening, complimentary & discount tickets do not apply
CC & AD: Closed captions or audio description available for individual use for this session, captions DO NOT appear on-screen.

Session times for the new cinema week, commencing each Thursday, will be released the Tuesday afternoon prior

Commences Saturday, 3 Nov 2018
Rating E
Genre To Be Advised
Running Time 220
Language
D PDF sessions Closed Caption E Youtube Top Melbourne Chefs MET Opera Season announcemnet film club National Theatre PALESTINIAN FILM FESTIVAL